top of page
Search

How to get your wv medical cannabis patient card

Updated: Aug 23, 2023



So, you are interested in getting your medical cannabis patient card in the state of West Virginia, but you aren’t sure where to start or if you qualify?

Don’t worry, we are here to help you navigate through the steps to figure out if the program is right for you!



Above, you'll find a list of the conditions that qualify for medical marijuana in West Virginia. These conditions qualify because the West Virginia Board of Medicine has determined that cannabis is a safe, effective treatment option for their associated symptoms.

If you have been diagnosed with any of these conditions , you probably qualify for a West Virginia medical cannabis patient card.

If you have not been diagnosed with any of these conditions, but believe you might meet the qualification guidelines, don’t worry! We will explain more in Step 2.

*Please note, that it is possible to apply for the WV Medical Cannabis Program without a valid and accessible email, but it does make the process a lot easier. Before you continue to Step 2 and 3, please consider creating an email you can access. If you are unable to create and access an email account, you can contact the Office of Medical Cannabis by phone at (304) 356-5090 and they will schedule an appointment with you to receive application help*




Before you can submit your application for the program, you must receive a recommendation from a registered physician, which can be different from your primary care physician (PCP). The Physician you see for your recommendation to the OMC program must be registered in the program as well.

Under the Medical Cannabis Act , physicians must submit a registration application to the Office of Medical Cannabis (OMC) and receive a mandatory four-hour physician education course.

If you need help finding a registered physician to receive your Patient Certification form, you can find a list of the current physician here.


The OMC has also approved the use of Telehealth to make it easier for West Virginians to access registered physicians. You can find online appoints provided by the following physician clinics:


*Please note: There is a fee to receive your Patient Certification, and the price is set by the physician or clinic. Right now, fees are ranging from $150-$250, and you will need to renew your Patient Certification every year to stay valid in the program. You can find more information on the rules set by OMC here.*

When you receive your recommendation, the physician will send your Patient Certification form to the OMC for approval. They will also send you an electronic copy of the certification that you will need for your online application.

Now that you have received your electronic copy of your recommendation, you are ready continue to Step 3!





Once you are ready to submit your application to the OMC, you will need to first register and create an account for the portal here.

After you have submitted your registration, you will need to confirm your email address by going to your inbox and finding a verification email sent from the OMC.

This email is automatically sent to your email when you click the green “REGISTER” button on the portal’s main page. Simply click the verification link in the email, and it will bring you to the OMC Portal Sign-In page.

If you did not receive your verification email, you can ask for another one to be sent to you at the bottom of the portal page.

If you still are having trouble finding the verification email, check your SPAM or Junk Folder for the email. If you are still having trouble registering for the portal, you can email OMC at medcanwv@wv.gov or by calling 304-356-5090.





Once you have confirmed your West Virginia Medical Cannabis Portal log in, you can now sign into the portal and create a new application.

You will choose to create a new application and then select that you are a patient. From here you will choose from “New Patient Registration, “Patient Update,” or “Patient Renewal.”

After you select the New Patient Registration, you can begin to fill out the sections of the application:


General Information

You will need you ID Document (Valid WV State ID or Driver’s License or a valid US Passport) for this section. You will also need your Social Security Number.

Contact Information


Legal Guardian Information

This section is only for those under the age of 18 but qualify for the program and receive a Patient Certification form from a registered physician.


Physician/Condition Information

This section is where you will need the copy of the Patient Certification that you received from your registered physician and enter in the information provided.


Questions

This is also the area where you will be asked if you are going to be requesting a waiver of the $50 application fee that is due to the OMC. The waiver is based on financial hardship and this section will ask you to add proof of such.

You can upload information from a recent W-2, paystub (within 30-days), Social Security or Worker’s Comp benefit letter, SSI benefit letter, or proof of low-income assistance benefit.


Documents

This is the section to upload the documents needed to verify your West Virginia residency and identification.

You will need to upload a digital file of the below documents (PDF, JPEG or PNG)


Digital Photo- this needs to be a clear picture of yourself with a white or neutral background; like one you would submit for your Passport


ID Document- this can be either a valid WV State ID or Driver’s License, or a valid US Passport


Proof of West Virginia Residency – this can be Utility Bill within 60 days, W-2 form, mortgage or lease agreement, WV Voter ID card, a bank statement, a benefit form or a car registration with your current address that is the same on your ID Document.


Physician Certification- the digital form sent to you from your registered physician to recommend you for the program.


Payment

You will need to mail your $50 application fee to the WV DDHR to complete your application.


350 Capital Street, Room 523, Charleston, WV 25301

You will need to write your Application ID number (you will receive this number once you have submitted your application) and name on the memo line of a check or money order.

No other forms of payment are currently accepted by the OMC at this time.


Review

Please review your application and make sure everything is entered and uploaded correctly.

Once you have reviewed the application, submit your application in the online portal and the last step is to make sure to send your payment to the WV DHHR.








Your application will be reviewed within 30-60 days from your submission, and you will receive an email regarding the status of your application.

If your application is denied, you will be informed of the reason. If your application needs a correction, it will be rejected and sent back to you to correct and resubmit. You will not need to create and submit a new application, you will come to the portal and select “Patient Update” and make the necessary corrections In your application and resubmit.

If your application is approved, your WV Medical Cannabis patient card will be issued electronically via email.

Congratulations – you now have your WV OMC patient card, and you can immediately head to a dispensary near you!

For those new to the medical cannabis program, we recommend coming in for a private consultation. During the session, we will spend time going over your condition(s) and symptom(s) to create a treatment plan to help guide you with your medical cannabis journey.

We can’t wait to help you navigate a better life, at The Landing.


671 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page